Home > Bihar Legends

Bihar Legends
Gautam Budhha... Siddhartha Gautama - Buddha (The Founder of Buddha Religion)

“The Buddha” - Siddhattha Gautama, The man who started the Budhha religion named Buddhism.

Budhha was born in lumbini, now in Nepal. His lifetime was from cria 563 BC to 483 BC. He was son of the King Suddhodana and Maya Devi. Budhha received enlightened under Pipal tree also known as Bodhi tree at Bodhgaya and after which he was kown as Lord Budhha.

There are around 360 million followers of Buddhism in the world. Buddhism widely practiced in the countries of China, Japan, Thailand, Vietnam, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Taiwan, Cambodia and India.

Aryabhata The Great Mathemetician Aryabhata – Mathematician
He was born in Kusumapura now called as Patna in 476 B.C and died in 550 B.C He wrote Aryabhatiya when Gupta's were ruling Patna. There is also contraction on his birth saying he was born in southern part of India. Kusumapura and Ujjain are two major mathematical centers in India. Aryabhatiya gives the details of Indian maths, time, planetary models and eclipses.

He is the one who defined the value of pi and also told that moon is dark and shines due to sun. He is one of the greatest contributor in the field of astronomy, algebra and arithmetic.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Dr. Rajendra Prasad (First President of Independent India, Bharat Ratna)
Dr. Rajendra Prasad was born in Zeradei, in the Siwan district of Bihar. His father (Mahadev Sahai) was Sanskrit language scholar and his mother (Kamleshwari Devi) was a devout lady who would tell stories from the Ramayana to her son. He was married to Rajvanshi Devi at the age of 12. He passed in 1915 with a Gold medal in Masters in Law examination with honors. He was a Doctorate in Law.

Rajendra Prasad was a leader of the Congress Party and he played a prominent role in the Indian Independence Movement. He served as President of the Constituent Assembly that drafted the constitution of the Republic from 1948 to 1950. He had also served as a Cabinet Minister briefly in the first Government of Independent India.

After India became independent he was elected the President of India and he served our contry for 12 years as President. In 1962, he announced his decision to retire from the Post of President of India. He was then awarded the "Bharat Ratna", the nation's highest civilian award.

Because of the enormous public adulation he enjoyed, He was referred to as "Desh Ratna" or the Jewel of the country because of enourmous pulic . He wrote many books including "Satyagrah at Champaran", "Bapu ke kadmon mein", "India divided" and "Atmakatha".

He died on 28 February 1963 at Sadaqat ashram, Patna with 'Ram Ram Ram' on his lips.

Image is not available... Babu Kunwar Singh (Legendary Freedom Fighters)
Babu Veer Kunwar Singh who lived during 1777 -1858 was Rajput from Jagdhishpur now belonging to Bhojpur district of Bihar. When he was 80 years old he actively participated in India’s first war of Independence which took place during 1857—1858. He won many battles against Britishers. The last battle which he fought was on 23 April 1858 near Jagdishpur. To Honour this freedom fighter who has contributed a lot in India’s freedom movement Republic India issued a stamp on 23 April, 1966.

Anugrah Narayan Sinha Dr. Anugrah Narayan Sinha
Anugrah Narayan Sinha, who was know as Bihar Bibhuti lived during (1887 -1957). He was first finance minister from the state of Bihar during (1946 – 1957). He actively took part in the freedom movement and was close associate of Mahatma Gandhi. He along with Rajendra Prasad, Bihar kesari, Dr. Sri Krishna Sinha and lead gandhian movement Bihar. He was alos the member of constituent assembly of India.

Image is not available...

Basawon Singh (Sinha)
Basawon Singh (Sinha) was one of the nationalist who took part in India’s freedom struggle early at the age of 13. He was fought for the Labours, underprivileged people and agriculture workers. During his struggle for India’s independence he has spent most of his life in Prison, i.e more than 16 years in British period. He left this world at the age of 80 on april 7, 1989. He was Democratic Socialist till the end of his life. Indian government has issued a special stamp on his name on March 3, 2000. In Hajipur of Bihar, there is an indoor stadium in his name.




Bihar News
Coming Soon!
Bihar - Photo Gallery
© 2009 - BiharJagran.com