Home > About Bihar

About Bihar

The name Bihar means Buddhist monastery. It was home for Mauryan emperors.

Sher shah Behari was the person who found the capital of Bihar, Patna. This stayed enjoyed peace when ruled by the Mughal emperor Akbar the great. Bihar was a part of Bengal Presidency till 1911 when it got separated from bengal. Again in 1936 Bihar and Orrisa got separated. Jharkhand was formed in the year 2000 from Bihar.

The main occupation of people is agriculture. The main crops grown are rice wheat, maize and pulses. Apart from these jute, potato are also grown. With the formation of Jharkhand Bihar lost rich districts like East Singbhum, Dhanbad, where iron and coal like huge natural resources were there. The places Subarnarekha and Kosi where Hydel power projects were there.

Divisions of Bihar and their Districts
The state is divided into 9 divisions and 38 districts, for administrative purposes.

Divisions Districts

Bhagalpur Banka, Bhagalpur

Dharbhanga Begusarai, Darbhanga, Madhubani, Samastipur

Kosi Madhepura, Saharsa, Supaul

Magadh Arwal, Aurangabad, Gaya, Jehanabad, Nawada

Munger Jamui, Khagaria, Munger, Lakhisarai, Sheikhpura

Patna Bhojpur, Buxar, Kaimur, Patna, Rohtas, Nalanda

Purnia Araria, Katihar, Kishanganj, Purnia

Saran Gopalganj, Saran, Siwan

Tirhut East Champaran, Muzaffarpur, Sheohar, Sitamarhi, Vaishali, West Champaran

Bihar State Map Picture...



Bihar News
Coming Soon!
Bihar - Photo Gallery
© 2009 - BiharJagran.com